

Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County, TN

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: RS2023-2004 Name:

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 1/30/2023 In control: Metropolitan Council

On agenda: 2/7/2023 Final action: 2/7/2023

Title: A resolution confirming the appointment of the members of the Tax Incentive and Abatement Study

and Formulating Committee, established per Ordinance No. BL2022-1415 and Ordinance No. BL2022

-1527.

Sponsors: Burkley Allen

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/14/2023	1	Mayor	approved	
2/7/2023	1	Metropolitan Council	adopted	
2/7/2023	1	Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee	approved	
1/31/2023	1	Metropolitan Council	filed	

A resolution confirming the appointment of the members of the Tax Incentive and Abatement Study and Formulating Committee, established per Ordinance No. BL2022-1415 and Ordinance No. BL2022-1527.

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. BL2022-1415, adopted October 4, 2022, and Ordinance No. BL2022-1527, adopted November 15, 2022 by the Council of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, established a Tax Incentive and Abatement Study and Formulating Committee; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the establishing ordinances, the Tax Incentive and Abatement Study and Formulating Committee (the "Committee") will endeavor to study how the Metropolitan Government has utilized and potentially could utilize tax incentives to incentivize use of property in a way that contributes to the public good and to formulate recommendations for its implementation in a more transparent, equitable, effective, understandable, and fiscally responsible manner; and

WHEREAS, as further established under Ordinance No. BL2022-1415 and Ordinance No. BL2022-1527, the Committee shall consist of seven (7) persons to be approved by the Metropolitan Council by resolution, with one (1) member being nominated by the Director of the office of Economic and Community Development; one (1) member being nominated by the Director of the Affordable Housing Division of the Metropolitan Planning Department, one (1) member being nominated by the mayor; and four (4) members being appointed by election of the Metropolitan Council, of which up to two (2) may be elected from the membership; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to its elections and confirmations process, the Metropolitan Council confirmed the appointments of Councilmember Burkley Allen, Charles Robert Bone, LaTanya D. Channel, Fiona Haulter, Mick Nelson, An'gel Sims, and Councilmember Kyonzté Toombs to the Committee; and

WHEREAS, accordingly, these seven (7) persons are identified in Section 1 of this resolution for formal approval by the Metropolitan Council.

File #: RS2023-2004, Version: 1

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. The following duly qualified Davidson County residents are hereby approved as members of the Tax Incentive and Abatement Study and Formulating Committee in accordance with Ordinance No. BL2022-1415 and Ordinance No. BL2022-1527: Councilmember Burkley Allen, Charles Robert Bone, LaTanya D. Channel, Fiona Haulter, Mick Nelson, An'gel Sims, and Councilmember Kyonzté Toombs.

Section 2. That this Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Analysis

This resolution confirms the appointments of the members of the Tax Incentive and Abatement Study and Formulating Committee, established pursuant to Ordinances No. BL2022-1415 and BL2022-1527.

The Committee consists of seven (7) persons to be approved by the Metropolitan Council by resolution, with one (1) member being nominated by the Director of the office of Economic and Community Development; one (1) member being nominated by the Director of the Affordable Housing Division of the Metropolitan Planning Department, one (1) member being nominated by the mayor; and four (4) members being appointed by election of the Metropolitan Council, of which up to two (2) may be elected from the membership.

The members of the Committee are as follows: Councilmember Burkley Allen, Charles Robert Bone, LaTanya D. Channel, Fiona Haulter, Mick Nelson, An'gel Sims, and Councilmember Kyonzté Toombs.