

Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County, TN

Legislation Text

File #: RS2021-979, Version: 1

A resolution recognizing the 2020-2021 Hillsboro High School Lacrosse team on their history-making Public School Division II State Championship.

WHEREAS, on May 14, 2021, the Hillsboro High School Burros Lacrosse team clinched the school's first lacrosse state title with a 3-2 victory over the previously undefeated Cookeville Cavaliers; and

WHEREAS, Hillsboro is the first MNPS Public School Division II lacrosse team to win a state championship; and

WHEREAS, this is Hillsboro High School's first state championship in any sport since 2009; and

WHEREAS, the championship game was hosted by Nolensville High School, and featured the largest group of fans since March 2020 which helped bolster the team with encouraging signs and constant cheering; and

WHEREAS, the Burros overcame numerous obstacles in order to achieve this championship; and

WHEREAS, due to the construction at Hillsboro High School, the team has not had a true practice field in three years and has been using the Woodmont Baptist youth soccer field which is a quarter of the size of a regular lacrosse field; and

WHEREAS, over the course of the season, the team traveled to Alabama, Kentucky, East Tennessee, and Middle Tennessee to play their games and finished the season with a 15-3 record; and

WHEREAS, the members of the championship team are Afton Verner, Caleb Kuehn, Peter Hileman, West Parker, James Thompson, Wesley Acton, Gavin Douglas, Sam Jackson, Rodney Glover, Jack Boyd, Griffin Flesher, Mac Claassen, Jack de Riesthal, Christopher Alba, Bryant Brown, Jayden Aquino, Cooper Sacks, Carter Geise, Gates Baxley, Ethan Reeves, Alex Henry, Caden White, Wolfie Schelzig, Oliver Perry, Chet Weachter, Owen Smith, and Devin Bester; and

WHEREAS, the head coach is Joe Van Antwerp and the assistant head coach is Tim Semisch; and

WHEREAS, building chemistry was one of the team's biggest goals since the Burros roster draws from two other schools in addition to Hillsboro - Martin Luther King School and Hume-Fogg; and

WHEREAS, six Burros players will graduate this year, but the majority of the championship starting lineup will return and be the first team to use the new multi-use field atop Hillsboro's parking garage set to open in late 2021; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes the Hillsboro High School lacrosse team for their determination and congratulates them on their history-making state championship.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the Hillsboro High School Lacrosse "Burros" on their Public School Division II State Championship.

File #: RS2021-979, Version: 1

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Head Coach Joe Van Antwerp and Assistant Head Coach Tim Semisch.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.