

Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County, TN

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	RS2021-714	Name:			
Туре:	Resolution	Status:	Passed		
File created:	12/29/2020	In control:	Metropolitan Council		
On agenda:	1/5/2021	Final action:	1/5/2021		
Title:	A resolution honoring the six Metropolitan Nashville Police Department officers who responded to the Christmas Day bombing on Second Avenue and expressing gratitude to all first responders who assisted at the scene.				
Sponsors:	Freddie OConnell, Burkley Allen, Thom Druffel, Zulfat Suara, Kathleen Murphy, Russ Bradford, Bob Nash, Kyonzte Toombs, Russ Pulley, Jennifer Gamble, Erin Evans, Joy Styles, Ginny Welsch, Emily Benedict, Tom Cash, Charter Revision Commission, Emergency Communications District Board, Steve Glover (resigned 3/1/2022), Larry Hagar, Jonathan Hall, Tonya Hancock, Gloria Hausser, Angie Henderson, Sharon Hurt, Courtney Johnston, Mayor's Office, Bob Mendes, Sean Parker, Planning Commission, Delishia Porterfield, Kevin Rhoten, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Dave Rosenberg, John Rutherford, Sandra Sepulveda, Jim Shulman, Colby Sledge, Robert Swope, Jeff Syracuse, Brandon Taylor, Traffic and Parking Commission, Nancy VanReece, Tanaka Vercher, Brett Withers, Zach Young				

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/6/2021	1	Mayor	approved	
1/5/2021	1	Metropolitan Council	adopted	
1/5/2021	1	Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee	approved	
12/29/2020	1	Metropolitan Council	filed	

A Resolution honoring the six Metropolitan Nashville Police Department officers who responded to the Christmas Day bombing on Second Avenue and expressing gratitude to all first responders who assisted at the scene.

WHEREAS, early on Christmas Day, Metropolitan Nashville Police Department received a report of gunfire on Second Avenue North in Downtown Nashville; and

WHEREAS, instead of gunfire, the responding officers encountered an RV parked on the street playing announcements from an audio amplification device. The audio from the RV then began a 15 minute countdown to a detonation; and

WHEREAS, six brave officers responded to the call and ran into the danger. They took measures to evacuate as many people as possible from buildings along Second Avenue and to set up a perimeter around the scene. They also alerted the MNPD Hazardous Devices Unit, who were on the way to the scene when the vehicle exploded; and

WHEREAS, these six officers from the Central Police Precinct and are Officers Brenna Hosey, Tyler Luellen, Michael Sipos, Amanda Topping, James Wells, and Sergeant Timothy Miller; and

WHEREAS, Officer Luellen was knocked down by the blast. Officer Hosey was also thrown backward by the explosion. Officer Wells suffered hearing loss from the blast; and

WHEREAS, the quick and selfless action of these heroic officers no doubt saved lives on Christmas morning; and

WHEREAS, after the explosion, many other first responders provided security and assistance at the scene. The Metropolitan Council would like to express appreciation for the Metropolitan Nashville Police Department, the Nashville Fire Department, and the Office of Emergency Management; and

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council is proud and grateful for all of our city's hard working first responders that make Music City strong, especially in the wake of this tragic event.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. The Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as honoring Officers Brenna Hosey, Tyler Luellen, Michael Sipos, Amanda Topping, James Wells, and Sergeant Timothy Miller for their heroic actions in response to the Christmas Day bombing in Nashville. The Metropolitan County Council further goes on record as expressing gratitude to the first responders who assisted at the scene.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Officers Brenna Hosey, Tyler Luellen, Michael Sipos, Amanda Topping, James Wells, and Sergeant Timothy Miller.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.