RESOLUTION NO. RS2021-___

A resolution requesting the Office of the Trustee to allow property tax payments received during the first five days of March to not be considered delinquent as a result of the February 2021 winter weather event.

WHEREAS, an ice and snowstorm during the week of February 15, 2021, caused many roadways to remain impassable through February 19, and resulted in most Metropolitan Government offices remaining closed for the week; and

WHEREAS, T.C.A. § 67-5-2010(a) mandates that interest of one and one half percent (1.5% interest) be added to property taxes that are not paid before March 1 of the year following the tax due date (first Monday in October of the previous year); and

WHEREAS, as a result of hazardous driving conditions, some taxpayers were unable to physically come to the Trustee's Office to pay their taxes, and the U.S. Postal Service experienced significant delays, which may cause some tax payments to arrive late; and

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council desires for the Office of the Trustee to make every effort possible to allow tax payments received during the first five days of March 2021 to not be delinquent and to not charge the statutory 1.5% interest.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. That the Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as requesting the Office of the Trustee to allow property tax payments received during the first five days of March to not be considered delinquent as a result of the February 2021 winter weather event.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Clerk is directed to send a copy of this Resolution to Trustee Erica Gilmore.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

INTRODUCED BY:	
Sharon Hurt	
Kyonzté Toombs	
Russ Bradford	

Dave Rosenberg	Jonathan Hall
Mary Carolyn Roberts	Emily Benedict
Tonya Hancock	Jennifer Gamble
Tanaka Vercher	Delishia Porterfield
Bob Nash	Ginny Welsch
Gloria Hausser	Joy Styles
Jeff Syracuse	Zulfat Suara
Brett Withers	

Members of Council