## **RESOLUTION NO. RS2020-606**

## A resolution recognizing October 2020 as Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

WHEREAS, October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, an annual campaign to increase awareness of the disease, as well as the importance of early detection of this disease; and

WHEREAS, the first National Breast Cancer Awareness Month program occurred in October of 1985 as a week-long event; and

WHEREAS, each year in the United States, more than 250,000 women get breast cancer and 42,000 women die from the disease; and

WHEREAS, breast cancer is the most frequently diagnosed cancer in women and is the second-leading cause of cancer death in women, with about one in eight women getting breast cancer during their lifetime; and

WHEREAS, most breast cancers are found in women aged 50 or older, but breast cancer affects younger women as well; and

WHEREAS, men can also develop breast cancer, with about one out of every 100 breast cancers diagnosed in the United States being found in men; and

WHEREAS, in Tennessee in 2017, the age-adjusted rate of new female breast cancer cases was 118.4 per 100,000, and 5,095 female breast cancer cases were reported; and

WHEREAS, overall, the breast cancer death rate in females has declined due to improvements in early detection through increased awareness, screening and treatment; and

WHEREAS, finding cancer at its earliest, most treatable stage gives all patients the greatest chance of survival; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council increase awareness about women's risk of breast cancer and highlight the importance of early detection.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing October 2020 as Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government and Davidson County requiring it.

INTRODUCED BY:

Zach Young

Kathleen Murphy Members of Council

Nancy VanReece

Robert Swope

Jeff Syracuse

Kyonzté Toombs

ar

Erin Evans

Brett G.

Brett Withers

Tonya Hancock

Gloria Hausser

Larry Hagar

in

Dave Rosenberg

1. Styl

Joy Styles

ron W. Awst

Sharon Hurt

Bob Nash

Puss

**Russ Bradford** 

Colby Sledge

yara

Zulfat Suara

Ginny Welsch

Brandon Taylor

Members of Council

Members of Council