RESOLUTION NO. RS2020-605

A resolution recognizing Holy Rosary Academy for being named a 2020 Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education for the second time.

WHEREAS, Holy Rosary Academy, founded in 1954, is a Catholic school located in Donelson educating students from Pre-K through the 8th grade; and

WHEREAS, Holy Rosary Academy is committed to providing all of its students with an education guided by faith and rooted in excellence; and

WHEREAS, the U.S. Department of Education released its list of schools earning Blue Ribbon recognition this year on September 24, which recognizes the nation's top schools for their academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Holy Rosary Academy was selected in the category of Exemplary High Performing Schools for the second time, and was the only private school in Tennessee to win the award this year; and

WHEREAS, 2020 was the first year Holy Rosary was eligible to apply again since its last Blue Ribbon School designation in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Holy Rosary Academy is one of only two schools in the Middle Tennessee area to be twice recognized as a Blue Ribbon School; and

WHEREAS, Holy Rosary's selection as a Blue Ribbon School places it in the top 0.5 percent of the nation's schools; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes and honors Holy Rosary Academy for its outstanding academic achievements and its commitment to student excellence.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY:

Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing and congratulating Holy Rosary Academy for being named a 2020 Blue Ribbon Exemplary High Performing School for the second time.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Holy Rosary Academy Principal Kimber Halliburton on behalf of the school.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

SPONSORED BY:

Jeff Syracuse

Bob Mendes

Members of Council

Kathleen D. Murphy	- Pon Donaldel
Kathleen Murphy	Thom Druffel
Members of Council	Members of Council