



## **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Metro Council Members

**FROM:** Vice Mayor Angie Emery Henderson

**DATE:** April 11, 2024

**RE:** UPDATED NOTICE OF CATV SPECIAL COMMITTEE VACANCIES

Notice of three vacancies on the CATV (Cable Television) Special Committee of the Metropolitan Government was provided to council members on March 20, 2024, and subsequently at the April 2, 2024 Council meeting, Council Member Burkley Allen nominated Jackie Shrago. On April 16, Ms. Shrago will have an interview before the Rules, Confirmations, & Public Elections Committee with an election to follow.

There are two remaining vacancies on the CATV Special Committee, which--pursuant to Substitute Ordinance No. BL2022-1528, adopted January 3, 2023-- are to be filled by Metropolitan Council election. One member to be elected must be a representative of a union representing workers in the telecommunications industry. The three total vacancies on the CATV Special Committee are the result of the expirations of the terms of three CATV Special Committee members – Theresa Driver, Jackie Shrago, and Karen Southall – as of March 1, 2024. Members of the CATV Special Committee serve terms lasting three years.

The procedure for filling vacancies on this committee is set forth in Council Rule No. 50. The timeframe for this process will be as follows:

- This memorandum shall constitute notice to all members of the Metropolitan Council of two remaining vacancies.
- Members of the Council will be called upon to make nominations at the regular Council meeting on April 16, 2024, to fill the vacancies.
- Nominees will be notified to meet with the Council's Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections
  Committee on Tuesday, May 7, 2024. Any nominee who does not appear before the Rules
  Committee on May 7, 2024, shall be deemed to have withdrawn their name from nomination. An
  election to fill the vacancies will be conducted at the May 21, 2024 Council meeting.



Should you have any questions regarding the procedure for filling these vacancies, please contact Margaret Darby.

cc: Marjorie Pomeroy-Wallace, Office of Mayor Freddie O'Connell

Kathy Floyd-Buggs, Office of Mayor Freddie O'Connell

Austin Kyle, Metropolitan Clerk

Keith Durbin, Chief Information Officer, Metro ITS

Chris Singleton, Metro ITS