Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: RS2023-59    Name:
Type: Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 10/10/2023 In control: Metropolitan Council
On agenda: 10/17/2023 Final action: 10/17/2023
Title: A resolution recognizing the 50th anniversary of the Fisk University radio station WFSK.
Sponsors: Jennifer Gamble, Joy Styles, Brandon Taylor, Jacob Kupin, Burkley Allen, Zulfat Suara, Delishia Porterfield, Emily Benedict, Brenda Gadd, Kyonzte Toombs
A resolution recognizing the 50th anniversary of the Fisk University radio station WFSK.

WHEREAS, WFSK, also known as JAZZY 88, is an educational community-based radio station, owned and operated by Fisk University; and

WHEREAS, in 1969 more than 600 Fisk University students signed a statement expressing interest in a radio station and in 1973 the university launched the first Black FM-owned and operated radio station in Nashville; and

WHEREAS, the radio station has served the public since its inception, and is home to 23 different specialty programs with 27 volunteers who serve in numerous capacities, in both on-air and behind the scenes, and are both Fisk students and from the community; and

WHEREAS, JAZZY 88 has a Smooth & Contemporary Jazz music format, talk programs and cross-cultural programming and broadcasts 24-hours a day, seven days week.; and

WHEREAS, additionally, JAZZY 88 proudly carries The Hezekiah Walker Gospel Countdown from the American Urban Radio Network, the award-winning Bassists Christian McBride's radio show, Jazz Night in America, and produced in the WFSK studios is the syndicated talk program What's the 411? with Sharon Kay which broadcasts live twice weekly; and

WHEREAS, WFSK has received numerous awards over the years and remains a favorite among jazz and contemporary music aficionados; and

WHEREAS, WFSK is an Associated Press AP radio station and an independent voice in the region and is a member of the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS), Tennessee Association of Broadcasters (TAB) and the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and African American Public Radio Consortium (AAPRC); and

WHEREAS, this year, WFSK is proudly celebrating its 50-years of broadcasting in Nashville, and it is encouraged that all members of the community join in celebrating this great accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes the Fisk University radio station WFSK, aka Jazzy 8...

Click here for full text